The  Projects tool helps you effectively create, manage, and save your work as individual projects in MapBrowser for a more efficient workflow.  Combined with our enhanced measurement tools, it is easy to create projects, which you can revisit at any time. 


You can create Layers, annotations, and groups in any base layer. Note that to view this content, you need to be in the base layer in which you created the content.


Watch the MapBrowser Projects Tutorial playlist



This guide includes the following sections:


Getting Started - Using the Layer Manger

When you first log in to MapBrowser a new Workspace will automatically be created in the Layer Manager. Think of the Workspace as a blank canvas –  you can search for a location, browse imagery and create measurements just as you would normally do. 
Even if you do not create a project, everything you draw on the map is saved automatically in the Layer Manager and so your Workspace is also automatically saved. If you happen to refresh your browser, you will not lose your work.

Once you save your workspace as a project, the project name replaces the word "WORKSPACE" in the Layer Manager.

You can see the Layer Manager by clicking the extension tab on the left of your screen. Any measurements or text annotations that you add to your imagery will appear under your Workspace (or project).


Creating a New Project

Projects are individual map views with measurements and annotations that you can easily revisit at any time – think of them as individual documents. Projects can help you organise and manage your work more easily by allowing you to save information about different jobs or sites that you are working on, and need to revisit.

You can create, open, and manage projects easily by clicking on the Projects icon in the toolbar.

There are two ways to create a new project:

  • You can create a new project by clicking on the NEW PROJECT  button:



  • You can also create a new project from your Workspace. Highlight the Workspace and click on  SAVE AS PROJECT :



Once you create a new Project, you can easily name it by clicking on the default project name.

Adding Labels to a Project

You can also add labels to your project to keep better track of your work. Do this by entering text where it says "+Add Label" and then clicking Enter. Alternatively, you can select from the list of labels you've already created. This appears as you click on +Add Label.


Opening a Project

Open any existing project by highlighting it in the projects list, and clicking Open. You can then close the Projects window and start working on your project.

Saving a Project

Projects are automatically saved as you make changes, so there is no need to manually save your projects.


The project will save the way you last left it. In other words, when you re-open the project it will be at the same zoom, rotation, base layer, etc. as it was when you last left it.


Finding Projects

There are two ways you can more easily find your current or archived projects:

Searching Projects

In the search bar enter any text contained in the project name or any label.

Sorting Projects

By default, projects are sorted by Last Opened project. Click this dropdown to select a different parameter by which to sort your Projects. You can sort by:

  • Last opened (project)
  • Date Created
  • Project Name (A-Z) Note that numerics precede A-Z.



Archiving and Deleting Projects

If you are no longer working on a project, you can move it to the archive. Archiving projects is a useful way to manage your project list and keep it clutter-free.

Highlight the project you wish to move, and click the ARCHIVE button then confirm the archive by pressing the ARCHIVE button from the dialog. Your project will be moved to the Archived tab. 

Viewing an Archived Project

You can view your list of archived projects by selecting the ARCHIVED  tab in the Projects window.


Restoring an Archived Project

To restore a project, select it from the archived list, and click the Restore Project button:


Deleting a Project

Projects can only be deleted once they have been moved to the archive. 

When you click Delete, you will see a message confirming that you want to delete the project. If you are unsure, click Cancel. There are no restrictions on how long you can keep a project in the archive.



FAQs

Why can’t I see the new Projects feature?

Projects are only available in the new MapBrowser. You can check if you’re in the new MapBrowser by checking the URL in your browser: https://apps.nearmap.com/mapsYou can also find more information about accessing the new MapBrowser here.


Why can't I see any of my existing projects in the Projects list.

First, check if you are in the ‘My Projects’ tab, and not the Archive tab. You should also check if you have internet connectivity - you will need to be online in order to retrieve and open your projects.


Can I work on my project while offline?

It is not possible to access Nearmap imagery via MapBrowser in an offline mode. As you are working on MapBrowser in real-time, Projects can only be accessed and worked on when you have an internet connection.


Is there a limit to how many projects I can have?

At this time, individual users may have an unrestricted number of projects.


How many layers can I create in a project?

At this stage, there are no limits to how many layers you can create in a project.


Will I use my data allowance when I use the Projects tool?

When you open and work within a project, you are browsing Nearmap imagery. As you pan and zoom on the map, your data allowance will be used in the same way as it is when you are viewing Nearmap imagery outside of a project.


Can I share a project with someone else?

The Projects tool is currently restricted to individual projects. It is not possible to share your project with other users.


I can’t see some of my layers or measurements on the map, or my objects disappear as soon as I draw them

First, check that the layer is not hidden. You can hide and unhide layers by clicking the ‘view’ icon next to the layer name. If the layer is not hidden, select the layer, and then click ‘Zoom to selected features’ in the layers menu.


How do I move an object to another layer?

You can move an individual object to an existing layer by dragging the object from one layer to another. You can easily move single or multiple objects to a new layer by highlighting the objects and selecting ‘Add selected features to new layer’ from the layers menu (press Shift + Click to select multiple).


Is it possible to copy a measurement into another layer?

It is not currently possible to copy an existing measurement or annotation into another layer. You will need to create a new object or annotation inside of a new layer.


I deleted my project - can I restore it?

No. It is not possible to restore projects that have been deleted. We recommend that you keep your projects in the Archive if you are unsure if you will need them again in the future. There are no limits to how long you can store projects in the Archive.
Note that deleting a project is only possible from the Archive tab. When you click ‘Delete’, you will see a message to confirm if you want to delete the project. 


Why can't I see my projects on mobile?

Currently, Projects are only available on Desktop and Tablets.


How do I hide/unhide layers?

You can easily hide or unhide layers by clicking on the ‘eye’ icon next to the layer name.


Why are height and width measurements in Obliques not saved to my project?

Height and Width measurements are not currently saved in a project view. We’re working on this and are aiming to release this soon.


What is a Workspace? How is it different from a Project?

Think of the Workspace as a blank canvas - you can search for a location, browse imagery and create measurements just as you would normally do. Everything you create in the workspace will be saved automatically, so if you happen to refresh your browser, you won’t lose your work.

Projects are individual map views with measurements and annotations that you can easily revisit at any time - think of them as individual documents. Projects can help you organise and manage your work more easily by allowing you to save information about different jobs or sites that you are working on, and need to revisit.


How can I save my Workspace as a project?

You can easily save your Workspace as a project - just click on the Projects icon in the toolbar and select ‘Save as Project’ next to the highlighted Workspace.